My OPW internship: first steps to being part of an open source community

Hi all !

First of all, I have to apologize for being so late with my first blog post! I am extremely happy to have at last the chance to contribute to an open source project and not just to any one, to the Apache Mesos. I heard about Mesos for the first time two summers ago, from a company that intended to use the framework for big data analytics. At that moment, I started to  read more about it (I found a lot of good research papers !!) and I became more interested about what Mesos can do, but didn’t have the time to “play” with it. Last months, I had the chance to get more involved and made my first contributions, which means a lot to me! 😀

So, what is my project about? My task consists in implementing the functionality to make Mesos work in an IPv6 environment. This problem concerns finding a convenient way to store the IP addresses in the code, write wrappers to abstract method calls for different address families, perform the routing and isolation of network containers and writing tests to validate the new functionalities.

So far, I concentrated on creating the IP address abstraction and the wrappers for the method calls of different address families. Here are my reviews and submitted patches.

The most important thing that I learned  is how to interact with the community, identify problems , propose solutions and discuss which one is better. From my point of view, these are the most important aspects (beside learning more about an open source project) that can help students/interns gain more experience from programs such as OPW or GSOC .

Even though I am a little bit behind with my timeline because it’s the end of the semester(I am a student) and I got lots of deadlines to meet, I am going to catch up!

Summing up, I am happy to have this opportunity, I am going to do my best and I promise will update from now on this blog more often!

Leave a Reply

